2024 Nominations for TfL Pension Consultative Council

2024 Nominations for TfL Pension Consultative Council

Nominations are being sought for TfL Pension Fund members to stand for election on the TfL Pension Consultative Council (PCC).

The council is made up of three sections representing Fund members:

  • Section 1: Pensioners and deferred pensioners (8 seats)
  • Section 2: Employees of TfL, subsidiaries and contractors except those covered by Section 3 (4 seats)
  • Section 3: Employees of LUL, its subsidiaries and contractors (8 seats)

The PCC meets at least four times a year to discuss the administration of the Pension Fund, picking up issues of concern to Fund members (other than issues relating to individual entitlements to benefits under the Fund), commenting on and making formal representations.  Four Councillors (two from Section 1 and one each from Sections 2 & 3) are nominated by the PCC as Trustees of the Fund and regularly report at PCC meetings. 

The eight PCC members from Section 1 are required to also attend the four Pensioners' Forum meetings each year.  This Forum meets with TfL management representatives to discuss and be consulted on issues relevant to pensioners and deferred pensioners, such as retired staff travel entitlements.

PCC councillors are elected for four years so five end their terms of office each year, although they are usually eligible for re-election. Five seats are therefore to be elected to take office on 1 December 2024.

The councillors whose term of office will end are Chris Miller and Paul Kilius-Smith from section 1, Cathy Oates from section 2 with Eddie Darroch and Jane Gwynn from section 3. All of these are eligible for re-election if they wish.

Nominations must be made in writing by a member of the TfL Pension Fund from the same Section as the nominee and countersigned by another member of the same Section.  The information listed below must accompany the nomination:

  • Name, as nominee wishes it to appear on the ballot paper
  • Dates, if nominee has previously held office as a Councillor
  • Whether pensioner or deferred pensioner if they are from Section 1
  • A personal statement of up to 110 words, including the reason for standing for election or re-election to the PCC.

A passport sized photograph may also be provided for inclusion with the voting papers.

Please note that the information provided must be factual, appropriate and inoffensive.

Completed nominations must be sent to the PCC Secretary, Qudsiyyah Tahir, TfL Pension Fund, 8th Floor, Palestra, 197 Blackfriars Road, London, SE1 8NJ by Friday 23 August 2024.  The constitution and further details on the PCC and the TfL Pension Fund can be found here or by contacting the PCC Secretary.

If there are more nominations than vacancies, elections will be held by postal ballot among Fund members in the relevant sections.

25th June 2024